PDA

View Full Version : Eldridge To Start At Center For BYU

CK Sooner
8/30/2009, 12:35 PM
Jon Cooper: 6'3", 290 lbs
Brody Eldridge: 6'5", 265

Eldridge is 3 inches taller than Cooper, but weighs 25 pounds less. I wonder how much that 25 pounds will effect him.

Crucifax Autumn
8/30/2009, 12:38 PM
He's a good enough blocker that it might not make as much difference as it appears.

CK Sooner
8/30/2009, 12:39 PM
He should eat Mcdonalds every day this week.

:D

IronHorseSooner
8/30/2009, 12:44 PM
I think it would be more about match-ups. I am not an expert on O-Lines, but Centers generally reach block, and are responsible for getting a read on the Mike LB. Bordy's height and reach might be an advantage there. As far as getting a hat on the Mike LB, his experience at FB and TE will help there. I have also heard that Coop was listed at 290, but due to illness, played at Brody's weight last year. If Brody excels at Center, he will likely try to put on some weight throughout the season to get to about 280. I have no doubt that Brody is smart enough and veteran enough to pick up blitzes and make the line calls.

HolaKyle
8/30/2009, 12:44 PM
Eldridge To Start At Center For BYU

I thought Eldridge played for Oklahoma ;)

CK Sooner
8/30/2009, 12:47 PM
I think it would be more about match-ups. I am not an expert on O-Lines, but Centers generally reach block, and are responsible for getting a read on the Mike LB. Bordy's height and reach might be an advantage there. As far as getting a hat on the Mike LB, his experience at FB and TE will help there. I have also heard that Coop was listed at 290, but due to illness, played at Brody's weight last year. If Brody excels at Center, he will likely try to put on some weight throughout the season to get to about 280. I have no doubt that Brody is smart enough and veteran enough to pick up blitzes and make the line calls.

He is only suppose to start until Ben Habern gets 100%.

JLEW1818
8/30/2009, 12:48 PM