PDA

View Full Version : Notre Dame is funny

meoveryouxinfinity
7/19/2009, 10:13 AM
If you want a laugh, read this.

Updated: July 17, 2009, 6:12 PM ET
Swarbrick praises Weis
Associated Press

SOUTH BEND, Ind. -- Jack Swarbrick's first year as Notre Dame athletic director has been a strange dichotomy.

"In once sense it's a blur, in another it feels like I've been doing it for five years," Swarbrick said from his office Friday, one day past the one-year anniversary of being named to the job at his alma mater.

The former Indianapolis attorney's most high-profile move so far was bringing back football coach Charlie Weis for a fifth season after the Irish finished the regular-season with a 6-6 record.

Weis has a 29-21 record with Notre Dame, a .580 winning percentage that puts him just behind the .583 winning percentage of his two predecessors, Bob Davie and Tyrone Willingham.

Swarbrick sees reason for optimism for the upcoming season. He points to the additions of Frank Verducci as offensive line coach, Tony Alford as running backs coach and Randy Hart as defensive line coach. He also cites another year of strong recruiting.

"It helps provide the depth and, importantly, improves the competitive environment at practice," he said.

Swarbrick also believes there will be a better team dynamic this season. He says Notre Dame's 49-21 over Hawaii in the Hawaii Bowl has led to improved team spirit and camaraderie.

"I feel very good about our preparations," he said.

Swarbrick also had positive words about Weis, saying he hadn't been given enough credit for coaching through all the pain he was in last season.

The 53-year-old Weis injured his left knee on Sept. 13 when defensive end John Ryan, who is 6-foot-5 and 264 pounds, was blocked into the coach during the Michigan game. Doctors told Weis the damage was so severe it appeared that he had been in a car crash. In December, he had his right knee replaced because of severe deterioration of the bone.