PDA

View Full Version : Dear Lawyers

SicEmBaylor
4/4/2009, 12:18 AM
What, pray tell, is a loyer? I hear people pronounce the term of a practitioner of law as a "loyer" all the time. Are lawyers competing against these practitioners of loy in the same way legitimate doctors compete against chiropractors or is this just a massive failure of the English language?

IMWTK

StoopTroup
4/4/2009, 12:24 AM
This ought to be good. :D

SicEmBaylor
4/4/2009, 12:26 AM
This ought to be good. :D

Well, I had to ask because I just don't know. I'm just a professional stoydent.

SicEmBaylor
4/4/2009, 12:29 AM
What's most annoying is that I hear the term most often from otherwise highly educated people. I've heard lawyers themselves say, "loyer."

I think it's an attempt to sound intelligent in the same way journalists love to mispronounce Pakistan as "PALK-EE-Stan" instead of "Pack-e-Stan" which is technically the proper pronunciation.

SicEmBaylor
4/4/2009, 12:30 AM
Here's a good rule of thumb. If you hear someone say LOY-er or Palk-EE-Stan then chances are you have yourself a ******bag.

yermom
4/4/2009, 02:45 AM
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/lawyer

Frozen Sooner
4/4/2009, 02:52 AM
One wonders how SicEm pronounces "Sawyer," as in Tom Sawyer.

SicEmBaylor
4/4/2009, 03:06 AM
One wonders how SicEm pronounces "Sawyer," as in Tom Sawyer.

That's entirely different. The "law" in "lawyer" is a prefix. Dictionary.com is throwing in a common pronunciation, but there's absolutely no reason that people should say "loyer/loier." Taking the prefix, one would have to assume that there was such a thing as "loi/loy" that one might practice. It's absolutely nonsensical.

The "Saw" in Sawyer isn't a prefix.

Tulsa_Fireman
4/4/2009, 09:13 AM

Sure it is. The name is rooted in the trade of a lumberman, one that saws round logs into square beams for building, which over time became one that cuts raw dimensional lumber from raw stock on a millsaw. The person that does that work? A sawyer.