PDA

View Full Version : ok lawyer type or real estate pro's

OUHOMER
4/3/2009, 09:49 PM
The son signed a contract on a new house today. I went and looked at it, its a nice place, no yard to speak of.

My concern is flooding. The street is higher than the driveway and garage floor.I went to look at it, there was a guy pressure washing the driveway and it looked like the water was shedding off to the neighbors. thru the grass and across their driveway.

So my question is, if this results in flooding into the garage and possibly the house. Will he have any recourse against the builder?

this really, really concerns me. but he signed the contract before I talked to him, and of course he is too excited and young to be very concerned today. :mad:

OU-HSV
4/3/2009, 10:27 PM
I'm no lawyer or real estate agent. But I like home shopping....and my wife has family who are realtors. In fact her aunt is our realtor and we were recently shopping for another home until my office cut our hours.

So anyways. Is that a brand new home or is it a (new to him) home/resale home?

If it's a new home...it ought to be covered in the one (or two year) home warranty supplied by the builder's company. If you all are concerned about it, I would ask them if that's something that would be covered. If they say it's not....I would argue with them until they would cover it and have them put it in writing. (The home I live in now we bought as a newly built home/we bought the lot and followed the construction progress. I've had to deal with them on my warranty a few times...even after the warranty expired)

If it's a resale home...it's my understanding that by law the seller should be disclosing any kind of damage, flooding, etc. that home has had. Mold is a big buzz word in this day...that's another thing they have to disclose.