PDA

View Full Version : Pilot's license

I Am Right
2/15/2009, 07:22 PM
Does anybody out there have a pilot's license, and if so, is IFR training hard?

Jerk
2/15/2009, 07:39 PM

Well, you need to have your VFR, first. But IFR isn't that hard. "I fly roads" is actually an easier way to navigate than using VOR's.

You need to go through some Special High Intensity Training (S.H.I.T.) to get it though.

SoonerStormchaser
2/15/2009, 07:52 PM
Heh...as a Nav, it's actually gonna be pretty damned easy for me to get my instrument rating once I finally get my PPL...

...one day...

Okla-homey
2/15/2009, 07:56 PM

Like anything else worthwhile, it costs money. If you can afford the training (both ground and flight) its certainly possible. I've seen more than a few melonheads get through just fine.

soonerbornin86
2/15/2009, 08:32 PM

I am a flight instructor. I just got my CFI certificate back in November. I did my instrument training this time last year. An instrument rating is a very useful rating to have. The training isn't necessarily hard, but it can be challenging at times.

One thing that will help out a lot is if you get a flight simulator and use that to practice setting up approaches, holds, and general instrument flying. That will make it much easier once you get into the plane and start flying on instruments for real.

I Am Right
2/15/2009, 09:08 PM
Like anything else worthwhile, it costs money. If you can afford the training (both ground and flight) its certainly possible. I've seen more than a few melonheads get through just fine.

Wow, another name caller, you must be so proud.

I Am Right
2/15/2009, 09:10 PM
I am a flight instructor. I just got my CFI certificate back in November. I did my instrument training this time last year. An instrument rating is a very useful rating to have. The training isn't necessarily hard, but it can be challenging at times.