PDA

View Full Version : Update on the Air Force

Melo
1/16/2009, 11:42 PM
Vet asked me to come by and give an update on the things that have been going on with me.

January 9th, I graduated BMT.

I was the second round of flights to go through the new 8.5 week program. I had so much fun while I was there - We did so many awesome things, like, the obstacle course, the gas chamber, M16 and M9 range. We did the BEAST (Basic Expedentiary Airman Survival Tactics), which meant we went out to the field for an entire week to get a feel for being in a deployed location. I loved every moment of it - I pulled DFP (Defensive Fighting Position) duty ALL day the day of evaluations and earned my sector major points, leading to an extra banner on our guideon. I spent 8.5 weeks not shaving my legs, plucking my eyebrows, etc. I also opted for no showers at the BEAST. It was amazing.

While all of the things we learned were difficult, we accomplished them all, and graduated together. I dont really feel as if I have changed much, personality wise, but I do know that I've gained a greater sense of patriotism, a greater sense of pride and confidence in myself, and the knowledge that I can accomplish a lot more than I originally thought. I know Ive made the right decision.

I passed my PT eval with flying colors - 33 pushups in 1 minute, 55 situps in 1 minute and 11:30 1.5 mile run. I was one of three females to get an extra town pass at graduation for receiving above minimum PT requirements.