PDA

View Full Version : Explain to me why the Gators are favored?

stoopified
12/12/2008, 09:17 PM
I'm sitting here looking at the season for both teams and I just don't get it.In 13 games Florida has played EIGHT teams with winning records and (3) Final BCS Top 25 teams going 2-1.

Hawaii (7-6)
Miami-Fl. (7-5)
Ole Miss (8-4) #25 UF lost at home
LSU (7-5)
Georgia (9-3)#15
South Carolin ( ( 7-5)
Florida State (8-4)
Alabama #4

The Sooners played EEIGHT teams with winning records,including (6) Final BCS Top 25 teams going 5-1:

Cincinatti (11-2) #12
Texas Christian (10-2) #11
Texas (11-1) #3 OU's only loss
Kansas (7-5)
Nebraska (8-4)
Texas Tech (11-1) #7
Oklahoma State (9-3) #13
Missouri (9-4) #21

I'm no expert but just looking at the opposition each team played it seems clear that OU has played better teams .That is why the only way I will be surprised is if we lose on Jan. 8.

Curly Bill
12/12/2008, 09:19 PM
I don't think they should be favored either.

Is it possible our recent bowl history is playing into this?

...ultimately I think we win by two TD's or more.

TENBOLLS
12/12/2008, 09:21 PM
Completely agree.

To win the Big 12 South, you have to practically win the national championship, and the oddsmakers are forgetting that, big time.

I have a buddy of mine going to Vegas the week of the game, and I'm going to send $100 with him to lay on the Sooners.

The second best bet? Texas -8 against OSU. I hate Texas, but I think they cover on this one, + 14 points. The Big 10??? Pretenders!!!

Roll them up, guys. Hard!!!

SoonerBacker
12/12/2008, 09:23 PM
Could it be because they are in the SEC and everyone still worships that conference as God's gift to football? After all, they play defense in the SEC and we don't in the Big XII.............:rolleyes:

sooner ngintunr
12/12/2008, 09:27 PM
I have a buddy of mine going to Vegas the week of the game, and I'm going to send $100 with him to lay on the Sooners.

please don't.