PDA

View Full Version : So, the Big Three's current line is...

Okla-homey
11/20/2008, 09:43 PM
They can't file Ch. 11 because they say no consumer would buy a car from a manufacturer in bankruptcy, even if it were the re-org flavor vice the Ch 7. liquidation flavor. They maintain that even establishing a team to look at Ch.11 seriously would leak to the public and doom them to bolivia.

I think they're grasping at straws. No one is buying their rolling crapboxes now. A Ch.11 re-org. that results in better value cars might just turns things around.

But what do I know? I'm only a country lawyer.

Oh, BTW, will the last person who leaves Michigan turn out the lights? And StayTFO of Oklahoma. We're a red state and we don't need your evile union ways to ruin our thang.

Sooner_Havok
11/20/2008, 10:29 PM
I heard the Chinese are interested in buying GM and Chrysler.

Tulsa_Fireman
11/20/2008, 11:09 PM
RIIIIIIIIIIISE, ZOMBIE LEE IACOCCA

Veritas
11/20/2008, 11:27 PM
The players: Honda, Ford
The contest: Switching a production line to produce a different vehicle

Honda: 5 minutes.

Ford: 13 months, $75 million.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB122211673953564349.html

Stoop Dawg
11/21/2008, 12:33 AM
They can't file Ch. 11 because they say no consumer would buy a car from a manufacturer in bankruptcy, even if it were the re-org flavor vice the Ch 7. liquidation flavor. They maintain that even establishing a team to look at Ch.11 seriously would leak to the public and doom them to bolivia.

But evidently having your CEO sit in front of Congress and tell them that you'll run out of money in a few weeks is just peachy.

Go figure.

Sooner_Havok
11/21/2008, 01:16 AM
But evidently having your CEO sit in front of Congress and tell them that you'll run out of money in a few weeks is just peachy.

Go figure.

So long as he flew there on his private luxury jet :D

badger
11/21/2008, 10:50 AM
So long as he flew there on his private luxury jet :D