PDA

View Full Version : A Question About Ripping and Burning

Rogue
6/23/2008, 08:42 PM
Windows Media Player version.

So, I have this set of CDs. Old Dave Matthews Band stuff called the "Bitter Blues Compilations." Pretty cool stuff for the nerds like me that could follow DMB around all summer in a VW bus if it weren't for things like life, work, responsibility, etc getting in the way all the time.

So, I want to offer a few sets of these CDs to some folks on a fan site.
Thing is, DMB fans and those who trade concerts are pretty strict about what is good sharing etiquette. I've never figured out how to do a bit torrent, so I'm not a techie expert like that.

So, I've ripped these to my hard drive.
I'm now burning them onto new Sony CD-Rs (namebrand only for trading purposes I'm told). The folks in the know talk about only sharing "lossless" audio.

Is what I'm doing good enough? It's taking about 6-8 minutes per disc to burn so by my hillbilly logic that means it must be good quality. Right?

What say ye, SO?

Tulsa_Fireman
6/23/2008, 08:54 PM
A Question About Ripping and Burning

It's your son Rip, on line toot.

Can we get one of those habanero brand thread merges? :)

Turd_Ferguson
6/23/2008, 08:56 PM
I thought this thread was gonna be about the status of my drawers.

yermom
6/23/2008, 09:21 PM
what format are the files on the CD's? are you just copying the tracks? are you ripping them to mp3 then burning them as audio? that would not be good...

if it was me, i'd be ripping them lossless with iTunes, or with some open-source thing that uses .flac

that seems to be the bootleg trader's format

i've never seeded a bittorrent, but i can't imagine it's that tough

Rogue
6/23/2008, 09:24 PM
what format are the files on the CD's? are you just copying the tracks? are you ripping them to mp3 then burning them as audio? that would not be good...

if it was me, i'd be ripping them lossless with iTunes, or with some open-source thing that uses .flac