PDA

View Full Version : Online Personal Finance Programs...

OUAndy1807
3/14/2008, 10:43 PM
Anyone use one? I've been using Yodlee for the last 3 months and it kicks the **** out of Microsoft Money or Quicken.

These things are safe, right?

StoopTroup
3/14/2008, 10:55 PM
Money and quicken blow.

OUAndy1807
3/14/2008, 10:59 PM
yeah, they were both terrible for me and required constant manual reconciling when I downloaded transactions. I'm telling you, yodlee needs none of that and it's completely free.

StoopTroup
3/15/2008, 11:44 AM
yeah I'm telling you, yodlee needs none of that and it's completely free.

Never heard of that one.

I'll check it out.

StoopTroup
3/15/2008, 11:53 AM
These things are safe, right?

Just saw this...

Another potential problem is that of security. It's an ID thief's dream to have access to all of your accounts, so be sure make your Yodlee login password a very strong password.

and this....

Yodlee's business model has two streams of income. Yodlee charges its partners a licensing fee for the Yodlee technology, which the partners then incorporate into their Web sites. Yodlee also charges its partners an annual per-user fee for the technology. Each partner has to pony up for each person that uses Yodlee through its site. Yodlee's partners could charge Web surfers for Yodlee, but so far that hasn't happened. Yodlee's Flanigan says that she expects the basic level of Yodlee service to remain free to users, although some of the partners that use Yodlee may eventually charge a nominal fee for additional services, such as transferring funds from one online account to another.

StoopTroup
3/15/2008, 11:56 AM
Looks like lots of folks have been using it for a few years.

I keep seeing stuff about having a strong password, but I think that's probably smart to do with any of your finances.

yermom
3/15/2008, 12:06 PM