PDA

View Full Version : Anyone read this about the Ruskis?

Sooner_Havok
2/11/2008, 11:37 PM
link (http://www.cnn.com/2008/US/02/11/russian.bomber/index.html?iref=mpstoryview)

Sounds like they are testing our reactions and defense plans. Anyone else get that feeling?

Whet
2/11/2008, 11:39 PM
Nothing new, the Soviets did that all the time, before they became "Russians"

sooner_born_1960
2/11/2008, 11:42 PM
I think Tom Clancey wrote a book that started that way.

Frozen Sooner
2/12/2008, 12:54 AM
Is 500 miles really that close? Admittedly I have no military experience so I have no idea whether it really is or not, but that's a LONG way.

BigRedJed
2/12/2008, 02:02 AM
The only thing that makes me uncomfortable about that is that we know about it.

Blue
2/12/2008, 02:07 AM
Should've been classified.

http://www.solarnavigator.net/films_movies_actors/actors_films_images/top_gun_goose_and_maverick.jpg

1stTimeCaller
2/12/2008, 02:11 AM
WASHINGTON (CNN) -- American fighter jets intercepted two Russian bombers, one of which buzzed a U.S. aircraft carrier in the western Pacific over the weekend, U.S. military officials told CNN Monday.

A Tupolev-95 flies over the Izu Islands, just south of Tokyo on Saturday.

One of them twice flew about 2,000 feet over the deck of the USS Nimitz Saturday while another flew about 50 miles away, officials said. Two others were at least 100 miles away, the military reported.

U.S. Defense officials said four F/A-18A fighter jets from the Nimitz were in the air.

The Russians and the U.S. carrier did not exchange verbal communications. Watch U.S. aircraft carrier USS Nimitz »

Four turboprop Tupolev-95 Bear bombers took off from Ukrainka air base, in Russia's Far East, in the middle of the night, Japanese officials told The Associated Press, adding that one of the jets violated Japanese airspace.