PDA

View Full Version : Tulsa Area golf ****** about'ers

OUTromBoNado
10/25/2007, 12:18 AM
So, I'm just getting started. I'm going to play my first round of 9 holes on Friday. My whole thing with taking up golf was getting out and playing a round of 9 once or twice a week...walking the course. It's part of my plan to get out and be more active.

It will probably be a little while until I play a full 18. I want to get some experience first. What are some good front or back 9 courses to play around Tulsa that would help me as a beginner?

Also consider the factor of how busy these courses are? Probably most of my time will be spent at either Cotton Creek or South Lakes since they are closest to me.

jigglymonkey
10/25/2007, 12:25 AM
Cotton Creek is always good for practice rounds if your just working on your game and hitting a ball or two.

Hamhock
10/25/2007, 07:34 AM
South Lakes is a fun and easy course, iffn you're not dodging airplanes.

Mjcpr
10/25/2007, 08:23 AM
Mohawk Pecan Valley is a good beginners course, especially the front 9.

Hamhock
10/25/2007, 08:32 AM
If you can make it to OKC, I hear Belmar is practically putt-putt.

OU4LIFE
10/25/2007, 08:47 AM
South Lakes would be a nice place to start and learn, it's short, and fairly easy. PLUS, the airplanes help you work on your focus...TOO MANY of the people I play with can't stand a little noise when they are trying to swing....just hit the damned thing.

Good luck, and put the time in on the short game and you will improve MUCH faster.

Hamhock
10/25/2007, 09:06 AM
Good luck, and put the time in on the short game and you will improve MUCH faster.

bull.

it's all about how far you can hit it. Swing as hard as you possibly can on every shot. who cares where it goes, if it goes far?

NormanPride
10/25/2007, 09:07 AM
TBN's good at the "short" game.

soonernation
10/25/2007, 09:26 AM