PDA

View Full Version : The hatchet or the shotgun?

badger
10/24/2007, 09:38 AM
Ok, the update on the Ruf/Nek situation is...

here. (http://www.normantranscript.com/localnews/local_story_297003256.html)

To paraphrase, our drunk version of the yell leaders (with shotguns and a covered wagon... and a hot chick) recently violated the student code and a decision will be made later today about what action the university will take.

To translate the PR jargon, the college boys didn't heed anything their 15-minute "alcohol education" session with a computer online was supposed to have taught them (yes, that is really all the alcohol education is), and that is my assumption, I have no insider knowledge on this situation.

Therefore, this is what President Boren is likely going to do, with advisement from former Ruf/Nek and current VP of Student Affairs Clarke Stroud:

1- MORE alcohol education (I think the mandatory stuff is more thorough) for each and every member (this is the action they take against frats and sororities that violate the policy)
2- An organizational fine (glad to know the shotgun money has come in handy, hehe, but seriously, this is also what happens to Greek orgs that get caught)
3- The threat of worse punishment should they get caught again.

My analysis: The only reason this is news is because of which group this is. So, they had a kegger party. So, their group signed an agreement saying they wouldn't host a kegger party. I say, if you expect groups that have hosted kegger parties for years and expect them to immediately stop because of university change in heart, you are sorely mistaken. Which brings us to the #4 thing that will happen to the Ruf/Neks:

4- They will be required to change the name "water keg" to something less alcohol-friendly.

Ehhhh. Discuss.

tommieharris91
10/24/2007, 09:56 AM
Sooo, strike 1 for them? They've really gone downhill.

schlanker
10/24/2007, 09:58 AM