PDA

View Full Version : MBA from OU

bonkuba
10/20/2007, 03:11 PM
Have a question to bounce off of you guys.....

I have been toying around with getting my MBA for a few years now. I would love to get it from OU. Here are my hurdles as I see it at this point:

1. Location - I live in Ardmore
2. Family - While this is NOT a real hurdle the time aspect of being away from my little ones (and my wife) is not exciting to me. I worked for IBM for about 12 years and was gone a lot. I have taken over the family business now....home all the time.
3. GMAT - have to take it :D

Anyone done this from outside Norman? Experience or advice? Any distance type course, etc (internet)??

Thanks.:D

badger
10/20/2007, 03:23 PM
What do you want to do with an MBA?

If you just want to learn more, then OU is a good option. If you want it just for the piece of paper and the ability to do things that an MBA is a requirement for, it might be easier for you (and your family) to go through online courses instead instead of OU.

bonkuba
10/20/2007, 04:16 PM
What do you want to do with an MBA?

If you just want to learn more, then OU is a good option. If you want it just for the piece of paper and the ability to do things that an MBA is a requirement for, it might be easier for you (and your family) to go through online courses instead instead of OU.

Thanks a lot for the reply. Well, from what I have read there are no really good alternatives online....for example U of Phoenix is basically a mill and is viewed as such via Intel now. I know from experience at IBM the hiring managers would basically throw away online degrees. Overall that is the main reason I was looking to OU (or other traditional univ). Also, hoping that the traditional universities have caught up with the times and offered more online (class lecture, etc, etc) since I graduated with a BS in Computer Science in 92 from East Central in Ada.

SleestakSooner
10/20/2007, 04:26 PM
oklahoma college of continuing education